Follow us on:
Maungati Banner Maungati Golf Club Find out more


Aorangi vs Canterbury at Ashburton Golf Club Sunday 20 September 2020

9 September 2020

The Teams are listed below.  Senior Men – in alphabetical order:   A Kelliher D Perham D Rodgers J Hewitt J Smith M Tessier R Cockburn T Leonard   Men’s Masters: – in alphabetical order:  A Peck B Franklin H Niles J Smitheram  N Heney O Miller R Bell R Stills   Womens Team Catherine Knight Christine Ross Ginny Bolderston Kelly Karton Lynda Brown Pauline Bell Sharon Bradford Vicky Moore    Junior Boys Team: Jack Brown        Methven GC Hiro Kakeda       Ashburton GC Mac Kelliher       P. Point GC Sam Morrison    Geraldine GC

Read the full post

Junior Golf being held in Timaru and Geraldine in October School Holidays

7 September 2020

Come along and join in the fun in learning the skills of the great game of golf!

Read the full post

Aorangi Women’s Veteran’s Tournament

4 September 2020

The Aorangi Women’s Veterans Tournament was played at the Ashburton Golf Club on Monday 31 August 2020 in warm and windy conditions. The following Winner were: Jacqui Welsh (Ashburton) Clarkson Trophy – Best Nett over the field: 66 Daphne Campbell (Pleasant Point) Euny-Peg Trophy – Best Stableford over 70 years: 40. Pauline Bell (Ashburton) Hedges-Kennard Trophy – Best Gross over the field: 78 Class A  – Nett: S Hastie (Ash) 77. Class B – Nett: B Davidson (Ash) 67, 1st Stab: V Prendergast (Tinwald) 37, 2nd Stab: V Sisson (Rakaia) 37, 3rd Stab: S Bensemann (Ger) 36, 4th Stab:  L Gunatunga (Ger) 36. Class C – Nett: J Stocker (Mayfield) 69,...

Read the full post

Gleniti Win the R J Low Challenge Cup

4 September 2020

Gleniti won their fifth and final R J Low Cup challenge against Waimate 4 – 2 on Thursday 3 September. Gleniti’s name will now be engraved on the Cup for the second time. The winning team was: Elisabeth Thorp, Glenda Frew, Ann Westgarth, Christine Bowman, Debbie Lovett and Kath Galwey. Others who played in some of the previous challenges were Jan Ford, Viv Brookland and Heather Taylor. The next match will be played between Lower Waitaki and Kurow in October.     ABOVE: From left to right are the winning team, Gleniti: Elisabeth Thorp, Glenda Frew, Ann Westgarth, Christine Bowman, Debbie Lovett and Kath Galwey.

Read the full post

Aorangi 9 Hole Tournament 2020

19 August 2020

The Aorangi 9-hole Tournament was held on Friday 14 August at the Geraldine Golf Club. There were 64 players in the field from 14 Aorangi and Canterbury clubs. The following winners are pictured below with their trophies, from left to right:Lesley Reilly (Temuka) Women’s Best Net 70 and over (Uni Peg Tray) 57-20-37Murray Lister (Ashburton) Men’s Best Net (Lesley Dobbs Tankard) 46-16-30Judith Tutton (Gleniti) Best Gross over the field 43-6-37Chris Anderson (Ashburton) 45-9-36 and Di Surridge (Timaru) absent 55-19-36Best Net (Grade 0-38.9)Carolyn Harkness (Pleasant Point) Best Net (Grade 39-54.4) 58-26-32

Read the full post

SNAG golf at Fairlie Primary School

18 August 2020

The Golf Professional based at the Gleniti Golf Course, Peter Hayes said, Fairlie Primary School Students had a great time with golf in schools SNAG golf. For the last three weeks, SNAG golf has been played every Thursday with over 100 students per day. Peter said, “Children have loved it they can’t wait to get to the golf club and play next Thursday.” Some of the comments the students have said were, “this is cool”;  “our team wants to win!”; “I have to be patient”; “this is hard!”; and “we can’t wait to next week.” Peter said he would like to thank teachers for...

Read the full post

Funding received from Community Trust of Mid and South Canterbury

6 August 2020

We thank the Community Trust of Mid and South Canterbury for the Association’s recent successful funding application. This funding will assist the Aorangi Golf Development Plan for the next three years in the areas of: Junior Golf Programmes Initiatives for Women’s participation Coaching programmes for new players Strategies for clubs to attract the younger player Golf Club support through Health Checks Representative Golf: Coaching and Development This means it will enable the Association to have increased flexibility in how it can support its members and clubs to improve the future for our sport as a strong community asset.

Read the full post

Ashburton Junior Golf with Club Professional Matt Davis

24 July 2020

  Chippers & Crushers Programme Sundays throughout Terms 1, 2, 3 and 4 | 11-12pm Young golfers who are growing a love for the game have the opportunity to learn the basic techniques of the swing and short game and develop their confidence on modified course lengths. Young Masters Programme Tuesdays throughout daylight saving | 4-5:30pm Tuesdays throughout winter months | 4-5pm Young golfers with a current handicap who have aspirations to develop their skills as a player, love the game for the personal challenge and variety of competitive opportunities. $70 per term Contact Golf Professional Matt Davis on 027 212-3931, or        

Read the full post

Primary schools in the district offered the chance to have a go at golf

10 July 2020

PGA Member, Matthew Davis from Ashburton GC, has been offering primary schools in the district the chance to have a go at golf. Ranging from year 1 through to year 8, last year Matt says he saw 1800 kids with a similar programme. After having a go in school, Matt offers after school programmes, as well as team golf and coaching opportunities on Sundays at the club. On top of all this he's been helping Methven Golf Club start up Youth Golf on Sundays and they've already attracted 12-14 new youth players from this!       Graham KeenAorangi Club and Development Manager  

Read the full post

Golf Club and Facility Guidance (COVID-19) 25 May 2020

4 June 2020

Golf Club and Facility Guidance (COVID-19) This advisory contains: Guidance for Golf at Alert Level 2 COVID-19 Related Guidance on the Rules of Golf General Guidance for Golf Clubs and Facilities Support Resources for Golf Clubs and Facilities

Read the full post

Contact Us

Phone: 021 027 07754

Email: Click here for email address

Postal Address: 199 Waitui Drive, RD 21 Geraldine, 7991

Featured Golf Club

Find out more about Gleniti Golf Club Gleniti Golf Club

© Copyright Aorangi Golf Association 2021   |   Website design by Plato Creative