Follow us on:
Waimate Banner Waimate Golf Club Find out more


Viewing entries posted in October 2016

Aorangi Representative Teams Named

31 October 2016

The following players have been selected to represent Aorangi at the South Island Interprovincial being played this weekend.  The Women play at the Russley Golf Club and the Men play at the St Clair Golf Club.    Aorangi Women’s TeamGinny Bolderston (Geraldine)Sharon Bradford (Ashburton)Catherine Knight (Ashburton)Jessica Shearer (Pleasant Point)Jenny Kellahan (Geraldine)Bronwyn Flannery (Tinwald)Kathryn Baker (Gleniti)Hillary Lovett (Ashburton)Manager: Pauline Bell (Ashburton) Aorangi Men’s TeamDaniel Perham (Highfield)Nigel Heney (Tinwald)Garth Simpson (Highfield)Regan Stills (Tinwald)Jeff Hewitt (Tinwald)Jeremy Goodman (Maungati)Brent Strange (Waimate)Hamish Scarsbrook (Temuka)Manager:  Matt Davis (Ashburton) Congratulations to all those players selected and we wish them all the best for the upcoming representative fixture.   

Read the full post

Aorangi Women's Bronze Champion of Champions

18 October 2016

The Aorangi Women's Bronze Champion of Champions Tournament was played at St Andrews on Monday 17 October in warm conditions. Results were as follows: Bronze B champion: Pauline Mack (St Andrews) 71Runner up: Jan Alexander (Waimate) 73 Bronze B Runner Up: Rachel Harper (Geraldine) 71Runner up: Daph Campbell (Pleasant Point) 75 Bronze C Champion: Renee Jones (Temuka) 76Runner up: Gay Henderson (Pleasant Point) 76 Gay Henderson Team Trophy: Geraldine 229 – Jan Oliver, Helen May and Rachel Harper.       From left, Bronze C Champion:  Renee Jones (Temuka), Bronze B Runner up Winner: Rachel Harper (Geraldine) and Bronze B Champion: Pauline Mack (St Andrews).                   Champion Team - Geraldine, from...

Read the full post

Aorangi defeat Canterbury Country

17 October 2016

As part of the build up for both the Men's Senior and Masters teams, Aorangi played a representative fixture against Canterbury Country.  The event was played in perfect conditions at the Hororata Golf Club with eight seniors and six masters representing each district.  Aorangi held a narrow lead after the reverse singles in the senior men 5-3, the afternoon match resulted in a draw earning Aorangi the win 9-7.  Brett Strange and Marcus Tessier achieved the perfect record with two wins.  In the Masters Aorangi were too strong winning 7.5-4.5 with Regan Stills and Jason Leary unbeaten for the day....

Read the full post

Aorangi Champion of Champions

14 October 2016

Womens Champion of Champions 2016 LR Fairlie turned on the weather with their usual great hospitality and an immaculately presented course for Champion of Champions on Thursday October 13, 2016. The highlight of the morning round was a hole in one by Judith Yates of North Otago on hole 10. At lunchtime the team gross stableford scores were tied with Geraldine and North Otago both on 53. A nett 66 from Jude McKenzie in the afternoon along with good rounds from team mates Judith Yates and Lesley Blanchard helped North Otago to a solid win with team total of 118 which will go forward to NZ Golf...

Read the full post

Aorangi Retain Millennium Trophy

11 October 2016

Millennium Trophy 2016 LR The Annual Millennium Trophy match between Aorangi and Canterbury Women was contested at Ashburton on Monday in fine warm conditions with Aorangi again proving superior and retaining the Millennium Trophy with a total stableford score of 648, averaging 34.2 points per player over Canterbury 613 and an average of 30.65 per player. The Aorangi and Canterbury teams are pictured below. Aorangi's top scores were: Teresa Booker – Rakaia 41Phylis Smith – Tinwald 40Jacqui Watson – Tokarahi 37Ann Westgarth – Gleniti 37Marylou Watson – Ashburton 36Jo Callichan – Geraldine 35Maureen Colville – Tinwald 34Carolyn Darby – Temuka 34Lynda Brown – St Andrews 33 Lynda...

Read the full post

Aorangi Juniors Perform well at NZ Eagles

10 October 2016

The New Zealand Eagles Tournament was played at the Aviation Golf Club 5-6 October.  Two boys and one girl are selected from each province to compete at the national event played over 54 holes. Congratulations to Brent Kirdy (Tinwald GC), Alex Kelliher and Jessica Shearer (both Pleasant Point GC) who were chosen to represent Aorangi at this year’s tournament. Despite being up against some tough competition and the weather elements making it heavy going over the two days, the team did us all proud with some excellent results. Jessica excelled in winning the U17 girls net and stableford competitions and finished in second...

Read the full post

Aorangi Men's Masters Team Named

10 October 2016

The following players have been selected to represent Aorangi at the New Zealand Freyberg being played at the Chisholm Park Golf Club 31 October – 4 November.  Aorangi Men’s Masters TeamJason Leary (Geraldine)                                                            Regan Stills (Tinwald)Jeremy Goodman (Maungati)                                                    John Smitheran (Tinwald)Robbie Bell (Ashburton)      ...

Read the full post

North Otago Golf Club 125th Jubilee

4 October 2016

The North Otago Golf Club is holding it's 125th Jubilee in 2017 over Easter weekend from Friday14th to Sunday 16th April 2017. If you would like more information or a pre-registration form forwarded to you please email Kath Rawcliffe at or the North Otago Golf Club at 

Read the full post

Men's Representative Triangular and South Island Masters

4 October 2016

Senior MenHeld at the Chisholm Park Golf Club in Dunedin on the weekend of 1-2 October, the Aorangi Men's Seniors played Otago and Southland in matchplay over 2 rounds. Due to the requirement of 10 players Aorangi was fortunate to have some new and enthusiastic players to make up the team. The team (in playing order) and results:Dan Perham, Highfield : 2 winsGarth Simpson, Highfield : 1 win and 1 lossJeff Hewitt, Tinwald : 1 win and 1 halfBrett Strange, Waimate: 2 lossesMarcus Tessier, Pleasant Point : 2 lossesRodney O”Neill, Tinwald : 1 win and 1 lossSean Gately, Geraldine : 1 win...

Read the full post

Contact Us

Phone: 021 027 07754

Email: Click here for email address

Postal Address: 199 Waitui Drive, RD 21 Geraldine, 7991

Featured Golf Club

Find out more about Tinwald Golf Club Tinwald Golf Club

© Copyright Aorangi Golf Association 2021   |   Website design by Plato Creative