Follow us on:
Ashburton Banner Ashburton Golf Club Find out more
Back to News

Holmes Cup Finals

Posted by: on 16 September 2019

Yet another brilliant day of golf held at the Denfield Golf Course in Geraldine yesterday, with the Holmes Cup semi finals/final, the Hayes Cup final and the Redpath Cup semi finals being played in excellent conditions over the entire day. The semi finals of the Holmes Cup saw Tinwald defeat Tinwald 2, and Ashburton defeat Timaru in a very close match that went all the way to the final putt on the 18th green.
The final was always going to be a close tussle between 2 teams who know each others games very well, and 7 of the 8 players selected to represent Aorangi in their annual fixture against Canterbury on Sunday. After a long tough day the Ashburton team came out on top and took home the Cup.
Josh Smith defeated Nigel Heney, Jeff Hewitt lost to Regan Stills, Blair Franklin defeated John Smitheram, Robbie Bell halved with Ryan Ford while the fourballs were shared, for a 6-4 win to Ashburton.
Thanks must go to the Geraldine Golf Club who continue to present an excellent course for Aorangi fixtures, and to the club volunteers who are extremely organised and welcoming to all players.
In the Hayes Cup Pleasant Point defeated Timaru 2, and in the semi finals of the Redpath Cup Tinwald defeated Temuka, and Rakaia defeated Ashburton.
The Holmes/Hayes Cup Player of the Series was won in convincing fashion by Regan Stills of Tinwald.

The winning Ashburton team, from left Robbie Bell, Josh Smith, Jeff Hewitt and Blair Franklin

Contact Us

Phone: 021 027 07754

Email: Click here for email address

Postal Address: 199 Waitui Drive, RD 21 Geraldine, 7991

Featured Golf Club

Find out more about Rakaia Golf Club Rakaia Golf Club

© Copyright Aorangi Golf Association 2021   |   Website design by Plato Creative