Follow us on:
Ben Ohau Banner Ben Ohau Golf Club Find out more


Waitangi Day Tournament

8 February 2017

A field of 94 players competed in the Aorangi Waitangi Day Tournament at Tinwald Golf Club on Sunday in very hot conditions. The Presidents Trophy was won by Carole Brand (Gleniti) with 40 stableford points, the Captains Trophy was won by Bernard Walsh (Methven) with 39 points and Geraldine won the Waitangi Trophy with 215 points. Full Results: Presidents Trophy : Winner- Carole Brand  40 pts. Blue May 39 pts, Wayne Blair 36 pts. Captains Trophy: Winner - Bernard Walsh 39 pts. Fiona Blake R/Up 38 pts by lot from John Shirtcliff, Jenny Senior, Bruce Day and Wayne Vessey. Waitangi Trophy:Winner- Geraldine 215 pts. Mayfield...

Read the full post

Aorangi Junior Golf Tournament

31 January 2017

AG Junior Tournament 2 LR Last Sunday we held our first Junior Golf Tournament of the year for both Handicap & Non-Handicap golfers at the Pleasant Point Golf Club.  The weather gods overplayed their part by producing very hot conditions for a field of 29 golfers, and the little ones were mostly happy to see the clubhouse at the end of their nine holes of Ambrose to refresh themselves. It was a great turnout to see our aspiring golfers of the future aged from 6 – 15 years take their skills to the course in the teams’ event. Watching these juniors on the course was...

Read the full post

She Loves Golf Event a Success

12 December 2016

Timaru She Loves Golf Ambassadors What an amazing day at our She Loves Golf event held on 11 December at Sir Basil Arthur Park, Timaru. We had 38 ladies attend the event, mostly first timers, others that had been away from the game for some years and wanting to come back to the game.  Having Kerryn Starr (ALPG Coach) and Pete Tutton (Golf Stop) on-board to assist with coaching was a huge help, and judging by some of the shots at the back end of the event, it would be fair to say the coaching tips worked – my thanks to Kerryn & Pete for giving up...

Read the full post

Aorangi suffer narrow loss to Southland

7 December 2016

IMG 0621 The third round against Southland on Wednesday was the only game of the day, with the team having their bye in the afternoon.  The Aorangi team went into the match aiming for a second team win to elevate them up the points table.  With only one win by Ginny Bolderston and two halved matches from Jessica Shearer and Jenny Kellahan the team were very close to securing the crucial point but just came up short.  Jessica Shearer, playing her second interprovincial at number three, was solid throughout the match to achieve the half.   The team with play two of the stronger teams...

Read the full post

Aorangi beat Otago at Women's Interprovincial

6 December 2016

The Aorangi women's team played Otago in the morning.  Two very exciting wins from newbie Kathryn Baker who beat Rachel Lissaman 4/3 and young player Jessica Shearer who beat Annabel Evans 4/3.  Sharon Bradford had a loss to an extremely fine performance by Jo Hicks-Beach from Otago.  With two  wins and two losses and three holes to play Ginny Bolderston playing playing number one scraped a win against Abigael Crawford to get the valuable team points. The weather is brilliant but the humid conditions and softness underfoot makes for tiring conditions for all ages . The afternoon match against Auckland was always...

Read the full post

Men's Toro - Managers Report Day 3

2 December 2016

It was a fine day weather wise for Day 3 but not the result we were hoping for against Auckland going down 3.5-1.5 Garth was 2 down after 9 before losing 2-1. Dan was 1 down after 9 and lost  2-1 with his opponent shooting 5 under giving him his first loss of the tournament. Nigel was 3 up after 9 and 4 up after 13 before losing 2 holes to birdie and was back to 2 up with 3 to play before finishing his match on 17 to win 2-1 and shooting an excellent 3 under. Regan was 3...

Read the full post

Men's Toro - Managers Report Day 2

1 December 2016

It was another close battle for the Aorangi Men against North Harbour in the morning and then against Bay of Plenty in the afternoon. In the mornings match against North Harbour, the team played well through 9 holes the scores were: Regan 2 up Nigel 1 down Dan 3 up Jeff 2 down Garth 1 downFinal result North Harbour won 3-2 Was very close with two matches going each way, with the final match being Garth, who lost to a birdie coming up the second last hole.  A great team effort and all positive knowing we made another top...

Read the full post

Managers Report from Men's Toro - Day One

30 November 2016

Aorangi Golf Bags Today's weather was breezy again but not much rain, the boys are all pretty wind burnt after only three days!  All the morning matches against Hawkes Bay were close with two loses and two 1 up wins.  Garth was 1 down playing the last hole needing to win the hole for a halved overall result he made birdie however so did his opposition! Soooo close! After a short break we took on Waikato all matches started well but Waikato's top two Luke Toomey and Nick Coxon played well to put Garth and Jeff away 5/4 and 6/5 respectively.  Nigel got to...

Read the full post

Natalie Rooney and Kaylee Bell get into Aorangi's She Loves Golf Event

29 November 2016

She Loves Golf Ambassadors Natalie Rooney and Kaylee Bell have got in behind the national wide campaign 'She Loves Golf' in an aim to get more women introduced to the sport.  The Olympic Games Silver medalist Natalie and country singer Kaylee along with Aorangi Women's Golf representative player Kathryn Baker have signed up as ambassadors to help promote the event.  Aorangi Golf are running an activation event on Sunday 11 December at  Sir Basil Arthur Park in Timaru from 11am-3pm.  It will be fun for the whole family with the SNAG Inflatable driving range. Click here to view the article that featured on the front page of...

Read the full post

One More Makes it Four for Jim

29 November 2016

Jim Annett HIO Timaru golfer Jim Annett can't quite believe he has nailed his fourth hole-in-one. Annett hit his perfect shot on the 15th at Levels, using a five wood to carry 147m to the hole. The only downside was the dent in his wallet said Jim "I thought it was great the rest of the field stayed on to shout for me but soon found out it was the other way round." Click here to view the article that featured in the Timaru Herald today.

Read the full post

Contact Us

Phone: 021 027 07754

Email: Click here for email address

Postal Address: 199 Waitui Drive, RD 21 Geraldine, 7991

Featured Golf Club

Find out more about Maungati Golf Club Maungati Golf Club

© Copyright Aorangi Golf Association 2021   |   Website design by Plato Creative