Follow us on:
Timaru Banner Timaru Golf Club Find out more
Back to News

Aorangi start strongly at NZ Masters

Posted by: on 1 April 2016

The 25th Masters tournament for district teams of four aged 40 and over, has returned to Methven, the venue of the inaugural event in November 1992.

Round one got underway today with patches of rain throughout the day. The Methven Golf Club was in surperb condition proving a good challenge for all the players.  Auckland took a 2-shot lead over the host team Aorangi who made the most of the home advantage.    Aorangi Captain Ginny Bolderston led the team well with the round of the day with 37 gross stablefords which included a chip in eagle on the par 5 5th hole and birdied the 3rd, 14th, 15th and 18th holes.  Jenny Kellahan put together a strong round scoring 31 gross stablefords with Catherine Knight on 28 points Methven's Angela Mowbray made an impressive start with 28 points also.  Aorangi has never won the coveted Russell Grace Cup, but with the home advantage and their strong start anything could happen tomorrow with 36 holes scheduled to be played.

To mark the 25th anniversary a special celebration dinner was held along with original team members and organising committee members present. 

Results in playing order

(non-counting card based on the 2nd of the two scores entered)

1st        98 Auckland: Lisa Herbert 32; Sian Kelly 34; Scarlett Jeon 32; Brigit Holford 28 (n/c)
2nd       96 Aorangi: Catherine Knight 28; Ginny Bolderston 37; Jenny Kellahan 31; Angela Mowbray 28 (n/c)
3rd        93 Bay of Plenty: Shelley McElroy 28 (n/c); Judy Cameron 31; Pip Lawson 30; Gillian Lees 32
4th        88 Southland: Robyn Boniface 30; Robyn Pullar 32; Kerry Mariu 26; Fiona Murray 26 (n/c): Waikato: Jill Morgan 30; Pam Wright 28 (n/c); Deb Foster 29; Robyn Pellow 29
6th        87 Tasman: Michele Reardon 34; Tracy Barry 19 (n/c); Sue Murray 28; Robin White 25: Wellington: Fiona McBride 30; Kellie Orchard 28 (n/c); Sereana Phillips 29; Jennie Hewett 28
8th        84 Northland: Samantha Dangen 34; Jo Taylor 20 (n/c); Alayna Cox 25; Ann Hathaway 25
9th        82 Hawkes Bay / PB: Janie Field 32; Kathy Olsen 24; Fiona Ellis 26; Martha Manaena 23 (n/c)
10th      79 Otago: Susan Greig 29; Liz McRae 24; Tracey Storer 26; Maria Arhanic 22 (n/c)
11th      78 North Harbour: Vaha Fapiano 34; Annette Muir 20; Fleur Reynolds 19 (n/c); Julie Gillespie 24
12th      77 Taranaki: Debbie McCallum 25; Ann Braithwaite 26; Eleanor Hodson 26; Kim Lucas 23 (n/c)
13th      72 Canterbury: Anne Dick 23; Cheryl Kemp 20 (n/c); Joanne Kent 27; Di Kay 22: Manawatu / Wanganui: Jill Hall 24; Jenny Ritchie 25; Rebecca Hopper 23; Joanne Wilton-Eadie 20 (n/c)

36 holes, are scheduled to be played tomorrow, starting from 8.00am with the final 18 holes, teeing off at 7.30am on Sunday 03 April.


Contact Us

Phone: 021 027 07754

Email: Click here for email address

Postal Address: 199 Waitui Drive, RD 21 Geraldine, 7991

Featured Golf Club

Find out more about Pleasant Point Golf Club Pleasant Point Golf Club

© Copyright Aorangi Golf Association 2021   |   Website design by Plato Creative